• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other subscribers
  • TWITTER

  • ARCHIVE

INTERVIEW: LEON VYNEHALL

Yes, I know… I’ve been bare slack yet again regarding my blog. Anyhoo, I’ve been really excited about writing this next post as this young man is not only a seriously talented producer, he is also a close friend of mine and a fellow resident at AKA AKA ROAR! Leon has always been incredibly supportive of what I do and really understands my passion for DJing. This is why I wanted to do this post, so show my support for him as an artist and friend.

LEON VYNEHALL

I first met Leon (not his real name by the way, I’ve been told not to give away his actual name) at AKA AKA ROAR about 2 years ago when he played his first set for the best club night in Brighton. He started off proceedings impeccably, spinning hi-hat house with a few classic twelve’s that he has brought along in a leather suitcase/record bag type thing.

Since then he has become an integral part of the AKA family, becoming the main man on all of AKA’s line-ups along with Lorca. Brighton has really cemented it’s place in the world of underground music over the last year or so, with artists like Guy Andrews, Lorca and of course Leon breaking through the barrier of the unknown. More and more producers are emerging from the beautiful seaside city, which I miss dearly since recently relocating to London. Keep your ears and eyes pealed for more to come.

So, back to Leon. I was actually due to post this interview a little while back, but having said that, the timing couldn’t be anymore perfect. Why you may ask? Three reasons. 1. He is playing at Corsica Studios tonight in South London with his beloved Well Rounded crew. 2. He is on the bill for AKA AKA ROAR’s next party (which is tomorrow night, Brighton heads… don’t miss this!) with Boddika, Oneman and Dubloke. 3. He is due to release his debut EP on Well Rounded’s sister label, Well Rounded Housing Project. Due out on Monday!

Without further a due, let’s talk about his wonderfully crafted productions.

So I sit here listening to the EP and the stand out track has definitely got to be ‘Mauve’ – which is the title of record. Leon has the wonderful gift of programming hi-hats, they shuffle to and fro from the word go. This is probably because he is a very talented drummer, so programming drums must be an absolute doddle to him. Soft synths quickly take center stage alongside some slightly creepy vocals. When the beat drops, the track gets your body moving and grooving in an instant. The acid-type bass line is floaty but hard at the same time, a great club track that has seen the likes of Eliphino, Braiden and other big names in the game support it. It is also a track that I regularly paly out in my sets as well, it’s a great track to mix in and out of. Proper DJs will know what I’m on about.

LEON VYNEHALL – MAUVE

 

Although ‘Mauve’ is the stand out track on the EP, personally I think all 3 tracks are the stand out tracks. Leon opts for a slightly more low-key number with ‘Homage’. Again, those hi-hats. I with I could get my hi-hats sounding like this; the best word I can think of to describe them is ‘industrial’.

This one is a little more bass-heavy that Mauve, the kind of bass that shakes your ribcage when listening to it in the club. The kind of bass that gets your gun fingers going. Another one for the dance floor. If you listen carefully to the spoken word sample it sums the state of mainstream music extremely well. I’m not going to explain; it’s up to you to find out.

LEON VYNEHALL – HOMAGE

 

For pure listening pleasure, Leon delivers the third track off the EP in fantastic style. Personally my favorite because I got so wrapped up in Mauve and Homage that I actually didn’t really listen to Picture Frame properly. Once I had given it my full attention, I fell in love with.

To listen to this one I suggest you buy the EP when it comes out on Monday, well worth it. Sunset vibes all over.

That enough of me rambling on, let’s get rolling with the interview…

Hi mate, how are you doing?

Alright, well thank you.

For those who don’t know you, tell us about yourself…

I’m from Brighton and I make House music in its many forms. I like/try to make things soulful with lo-fi grit, but with an acid edge that is club ready.

I’m as intrigued as everyone else, you’ve changed your name about 3 times since I met you, can you explain why?

My alias used to be Leon, but I found out there was another producer of the same name, so I added the surname too avoid complications. Before that I changed it to Leighton for a couple of days, but that was a mistake. I didn’t like it.

So Leon Vynehall isn’t your real name?

It’s my pseudonym, my other self.

What’s the first thing you do when you get up in the morning? (or afternoon).

I have a coffee. Black gold starts my brain.

You’re a great DJ/producer, I love your work. What I want to know is, if you had to be a DJ/producer for one day, who would it be?

Dave Sitek. I’d love to know how he thinks and his structure to what he does. I’m a big fan of TV On The Radio and all their records (especially Return to Cookie Mountain and Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes). The sound he produces I can only describe as a visual metaphor. He creates atmosphere outside the music, almost like a ball with an aurora around it. It’s beautiful.

Where is the most exciting place you have played?

Germany for Chez Freiburg was great. It wasn’t necessarily the venue that was exciting, just the vibe from the crowd and the hospitality I was welcomed with.

You recently had your EP cut onto vinyl, which must have been an exciting moment for you. Can you describe to us that experience?

It verified for me how mastering is such an important part of making a record. It was my first time in a mastering studio and the difference it makes is phenomenal. It brings out the best in a producers production (when done right). We went to Curve in Hackney and I was very impressed, great engineer.

I see you have been collaborating with Lorca recently; can you describe to us what it is you’re making?

Yes we have. Lorca is a good friend of mine, we work well together and he is one of the few people I can actually collaborate with. It almost sounds like the best parts of each of our productions styles glued together. It’s understandably House, but we’ve ended up making something that I would describe as rhythmical soundscape but it’s also got a bit of a Garage twist, but not at the same time. I don’t know… I guess you’ll have to wait to make your own decision.

Is it something you indent to eventually release? Or is just an experiment?

We’ve had some interest already, but we didn’t intentionally make it for a release. We live about 100 yards away from each other so it was just a bit of fun.

How you get your hi-hats to sound ‘industrial’?

The right sample to start with always helps. There are templates to get to a certain sound, but it’s just messing around with gain, limiters, phasers etc until I find something I like the sound of. I find that sometimes the best sounds come out of nowhere after experimentation.

How did you get involved in Aka Roar? It must be amazing to be part of such a great group of people… elaborate if you will…

I was fairly new to Brighton and been to a few AKAs before. They started out every Monday and then moved to monthly nights. I got in touch with them by sending a mix, the old school way. I’ve now been a resident there for nearly two years and see them as my extended family. Everyone involved with it is passionate about what AKA is promoting in Brighton. It’s an absolute asset to the city.

Now be honest, how painful was it to get your fingers tattooed?

It was bearable, until it hit my bone. I wont say anymore…

Fill us in with details about your forthcoming debut EP if you may…

It’s out on 12″ and digi on Monday 30th April through Well Rounded Housing Project (one arm of Well Rounded Records). It includes Mauve, Homage and Picture Frame. I wrote this EP about a year ago now, so I’m excited for it to be out in the world on something physical.

What or who has been floating your boat recently?

A producer called J.Tijn from London is one of my favorites right now. He makes some incredible techno but it’s got a great edge to it. It’s his sound. Wheez-ie’s new record on Well Rounded is furious. It was being mastered at the same session as mine and I’m definitely going to be getting that on wax. Recently bought a few of Cabin Fever’s Trax releases, DJ Wild, Gerd, Factory Floor and some others.

Best DJ you’ve seen revelry? (please say me)

Of course you, goes without saying. Actress is one of the best I’ve seen recently. Not for his technical mixing skills but for the selection he has, it’s always on point and interesting. I played with him in London last year and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Can you tell us of any new artists we should be aware of?

J.Tijn (as I’ve said before), Lorca (of course) and Perc. They’d be my three to watch.

What is in store for you in 2012? Do you have any more music due to be released?

I have releases lined up for the rest of the year. The next one after the Mauve EP will be on George Fitzgeralds label, Man Make Music. I’ve also got some remixes lined-up, you’ll know about them soon enough.

And finally, do you love me? (as a friend and aka fam member)

Unconditionally.

Big ups to Leon for taking the time to participate in the interview. Catch him tonight at Corsica Studios and tomorrow at LIFE Club for the mighty AKA AKA ROAR! And, most importantly, go grab a copy of this must have EP. I’ll be first in line on Monday morning to grab mine.

Insabit,

TEMPLE

Leave a comment

Leave a comment